Archive for May, 2014

Setlist (Tuesday, May 27th)

Posted in Setlists on May 27, 2014 by occupyairwaves

Me First And The Gimme Gimmes – “Karma Chameleon” – Are We Not Men? We Are Diva!

The Gaslight Anthem – “45” – Handwritten

Alkaline Trio – “Emma” – Good Mourning

The Black Keys – “Bullet In The Brain” – Turn Blue

Broken Bells – “No Matter What You’re Told” – After The Disco

Mad Caddies – “Bring It Down” – Dirty Rice

Green Day – “Stray Heart” – ¡Dos!

The Front Bottoms – “The Feud” – Talon Of The Hawk

Manchester Orchestra – “Every Stone” – Cope

Jack White – “Just One Drink” – Lazaretto (Out June 10th!)

The White Stripes – “Black Math” – Elephant

The Flatliners – “Caskets Full” – Dead Language

Weatherbox – “Radio Hive” – Flies In All Directions

Motion City Soundtrack – “A Lifeless Ordinary (Need A Little Help)” – My Dinosaur Life

Rise Against – “Help Is On The Way” – Endgame

Wyldlife – “Saturday Night” – The Time Has Come To Rock And Roll

Foxy Shazam – “Unstoppable” – Foxy Shazam

Allison Weiss – “Giving Up” – Remember When EP (Out July 22nd!)

Kaiser Chiefs – “Ruffians On Parade” – Education, Education, Education & War

Taking Back Sunday – “What’s It Feel Like To Be A Ghost?” – Louder Now

The Static Jacks – “People Don’t Forget” – In Blue

Cheap Girls – “Slow Nod” – Famous Graves

The Front Bottoms – “Jim Bogart” – Rose EP (Out June 17th!)

Modern Baseball – “Your Graduation” – You’re Gonna Miss It All

Phoenix – “1901” – Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix

Smallpools – “Dreaming” – Have A Great Summer!

Boxed Wine – “Spies” – Cheap, Fun

Muse – “Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want” – Feeling Good / Hyper Music (Single)

Say Anything – “Six Six Six” – Hebrews (Out June 10th!)

Toasted Plastic – “Isolation” – June Highs

Fountains Of Wayne – “Mexican Wine” – Welcome Interstate Managers


“Turn Blue” – The Black Keys

Posted in Album Reviews on May 14, 2014 by occupyairwaves


I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: Anything that producer Danger Mouse (a.k.a. Brian Burton) touches is pure gold. Not only did he co-produce The Black Keys’ eighth studio album, Turn Blue, but he also co-wrote a lot of the songs with guitarist Dan Auerbach and drummer Patrick Carney. This fact is very evident in the album’s opening song, “Weight Of Love.” It sounds a lot like another album Danger Mouse worked on earlier this year, Broken Bells’ After The Disco. A nearly seven-minute-long opening track was a bold move for the Keys, but it plays out well and fully introduces the new psychedelic sound of the band. Auerbach stated that Turn Blue would be primarily a “headphone record,” which it undoubtedly is, once again made evident by “Weight Of Love.”

The record’s first single, “Fever,” was met with mixed feelings, as many fans worried there would be less guitar and more synth than on previous Keys albums. Although there is clearly more emphasis on synth leads and basslines on Turn Blue, there is still plenty of guitar riffing to go around. For example, one of my personal favorites, album closer “Gotta Get Away,” is pure classic rock with a guitar solo and power chords galore. Growing up listening to bands like The Eagles and Bachman-Turner Overdrive, I instantly fell in love with this track. Meanwhile, songs like the searing “Bullet In The Brain” showcase the aforementioned new emphasis on synth and bass.

The album title, Turn Blue, describes the Keys’ lyrical content pretty well on its own: The lyrics all point to Auerbach’s vicious divorce, and you can really hear his pain as he sings lines like “Pour me down the drain, I disappear / Like every honest thing I used to hear.” As truly heartbreaking as Turn Blue is, it still manages to be one of the best albums of 2014 so far. If you like the rest of the Keys’ discography, you’ll grow to love their new psychedelic sound.

-Joe MacPhee

Recommended Jams: Weight Of Love, Fever, Bullet In The Brain, Gotta Get Away

Setlist (Wednesday, May 7th)

Posted in Setlists on May 7, 2014 by occupyairwaves

The Black Keys – “Gold On The Ceiling” – El Camino

The Static Jacks – “Wallflowers” – In Blue

Weezer – “Beverly Hills” – Make Believe

Jack White – “Lazaretto” – Lazaretto (Out June 10th!)

Manchester Orchestra – “Indentions” – Cope

The Menzingers – “The Talk” – Rented World

The Strypes – “Perfect Storm” – Snapshot

Of Monsters And Men – “Six Weeks” – My Head Is An Animal

Drake Bell – “Crazy Little Thing Called Love” – Ready Steady Go!

Electric Light Orchestra – “Evil Woman” – Face The Music

Hall & Oates – “She’s Gone” – Abandoned Luncheonette

Kaiser Chiefs – “Misery Company” – Education, Education, Education & War

Say Anything – “Less Cute” – Say Anything

Drunken Logic – “Something New To Burn” – Something New To Burn