Archive for May, 2013

Setlist (Saturday, May 25th)

Posted in Setlists on May 26, 2013 by occupyairwaves

Phoenix – “Trying To Be Cool” – Bankrupt!

Iggy And The Stooges – “Beat That Guy” – Ready To Die

David Bowie – “The Next Day” – The Next Day

Audio / Rocketry – “This Audio” – Piloting A Vehicle Of Audible Expression

Daft Punk – “Get Lucky” – Random Access Memories

Melbourne Ska Orchestra – “Back To Basics” – Melbourne Ska Orchestra

Cat Empire – “The Chariot” – Two Shoes

The Front Bottoms – “Funny You Should Ask” – Talon Of The Hawk

Balance And Composure – “Say” – Braid / Balance And Composure Split

Laura Stevenson – “Bells And Whistles” – Wheel

Nirvana – “School” – Bleach

Iron Maiden – “Wrathchild” – Killers

Alkaline Trio – “The Temptation Of St. Anthony” – My Shame Is True


Occupy The Airwaves Greatest Hits!

Posted in Everything Else on May 15, 2013 by occupyairwaves

After breaking our 70 show mark, Matt and I decided to make a summer mixtape of some of the best songs we’ve played over the semesters. This is a collection of songs, each of which we played roughly 5+ weeks in a row because they were just so damn good. In other words, this is a mixtape of college radio’s best rock songs of the past two and a half years, so feel free to mix and match and make your own summer playlist!



1) Gotye – “Somebody That I Used To Know (Feat. Kimbra)” – Making Mirrors

2) The Front Bottoms – “Maps” – The Front Bottoms

3) The Waffle Stompers – “Serious” – Words With Enemies

4) The Black Keys – “Lonely Boy” – El Camino

5) Neutral Milk Hotel – “In The Aeroplane Over The Sea” – In The Aeroplane Over The Sea (This tune is pretty old, but it was a Core favorite when “Core Tracks” were still a thing…)

6) River City Extension – “Our New Intelligence” – The Unmistakable Man

7) The Menzingers – “Good Things” – On The Impossible Past

8) Of Monsters And Men – “Little Talks” – My Head Is An Animal

9) Nightmares For A Week – “Bear Mountain” – Don’t Die

10) Beach House – “Myth” – Bloom

11) Best Coast – “The Only Place” – The Only Place

12) Alkaline Trio – “Emma” – Good Mourning (Another oldie, but an old go-to for Occupy The Airwaves.)

13) Japandroids – “The House That Heaven Built” – Celebration Rock

14) David Byrne & St. Vincent – “Who” – Love This Giant

15) Cake – “Short Skirt / Long Jacket” – Comfort Eagle (Another Occupy favorite)

16) Muse – “Madness” – The 2nd Law

17) Tegan And Sara – “Closer” – Heartthrob

18) Matt And Kim – “Let’s Go” – Lightning

19) Prawn – “Grass And Bones” – Ships

20) The Gaslight Anthem – “45” – Handwritten

“Tape Deck Heart” – Frank Turner

Posted in Album Reviews on May 12, 2013 by occupyairwaves


Hardcore punk rocker Frank Turner is back with his fifth studio album, Tape Deck Heart. Initially the vocalist of a hardcore band, Frank bases most of his solo work around acoustic-centered folk punk, and his past four albums have shown that this is a very successful approach. Tape Deck Heart is no exception to the formula, and much like his other records, you can hear the underlying hardcore influence on many of the tracks.

The album opens with what I believe could be the song of the year, “Recovery.” It is tells the inspiring tale of someone’s shattered life, and how love could help him put the pieces back together. The chord progression is incredibly infectious, and the bridge really shows off Frank’s vocal range. It’s just a fun tune to dance to honestly. The music video shows what I mean pretty well. “Losing Days” follows up the opening track very nicely with a bit more pop, and the harmonies highlight the catchy melody. If it already wasn’t obvious after the first two songs, this album was written following a long-term breakup, so a good portion of the songs are about loss, failure, and running out of time. However, occasionally there will be a song or two with a glimmer of hope (as with the opening track). “The Way I Tend To Be” has some of this positivity, and it slows things down a bit, though it keeps the same mood.

After an exceptional three-track opening combination, you begin to settle into the album. Frank then gets very dark with “Plain Sailing Weather” as he screams, “So give me one fine day of plain sailing weather, And I can fuck up anything, anything.” This track shows how Turner can take some very overused chord progressions and make them sound original with his own unique perspective. After two standard Frank Turner jams, you arrive at “Four Simple Words,” the biggest standout on the album. It starts off slow and romantic, gets a bit of a country vibe, and then all of a sudden transforms into a punk song. After a great deal of aggression, the song goes into a honky-tonk  old Western bar-esque bridge, and once again ends on a punk rock note. This tune is sure to be a big crowd pleaser at future Frank Turner concerts. The album ends a bit strangely with a very slow, droning song called “Broken Piano,” reminiscent of Explosions In The Sky. The Explosions-sounding riff doesn’t even start until three and a half minutes into the song, so it does get a bit hard to stay interested.

All in all, Frank Turner has always put out excellent albums, and Tape Deck Heart continues this tradition. The only negative thing to be said about this record is that most of the good songs seem to be squeezed into the first half, and many of the later songs are easily forgettable, though they are all decently good tunes. If you’re into acoustic-based folk punk, then I would definitely recommend this album. If you’ve never heard of Frank Turner, I would suggest starting off with some of his earlier hits, such as “Photosynthesis” off of Love Ire & Song and “Peggy Sang The Blues” off of England Keep My Bones (arguably Frank’s best album).

-Joe MacPhee

Recommended Jams: Recovery, Four Simple Words, Losing Days, Plain Sailing Weather

Setlist (Thursday, May 9th)

Posted in Setlists on May 10, 2013 by occupyairwaves

*Last show of the spring semester!*

Alkaline Trio – “Until Death Do Us Part” – My Shame Is True

The Replacements – “I’m Not Sayin'” – Songs For Slim EP

Cold War Kids – “Bottled Affection” – Dear Miss Lonelyhearts

The Front Bottoms – “Twin Size Mattress” – Talon Of The Hawk (Out May 21st!)

Tegan And Sara – “Walking With A Ghost” – So Jealous

David Bowie – “Where Are We Now?” – The Next Day

Phoenix – “Trying To Be Cool” – Bankrupt!

Vampire Weekend – “Diane Young” – Modern Vampires Of The City (Out May 14th!)

Conditions – “Wonderful Lie” – Full Of War

Maritime – “Parade Of Punk Rock T-Shirts” – We, The Vehicles

Paramore – “Daydreaming” – Paramore

Death Cab For Cutie – “The Sound Of Settling” – Transatlanticism

Simple Minds – “Don’t You (Forget About Me)” – The Breakfast Club (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

The Replacements – “Within Your Reach” – Hootenany

Setlist (Thursday, May 2nd)

Posted in Setlists on May 2, 2013 by occupyairwaves

Matt And Kim – “Let’s Go” – Lightning

Team Spirit – “Jesus, He’s Alright!” – Team Spirit EP

David Bowie – “(You Will) Set The World On Fire” – The Next Day

Alkaline Trio – “One Last Dance” – My Shame Is True

Swingin’ Utters – “The Librarians Are Hiding Something” – Poorly Formed

The Postal Service – “Turn Around” – Give Up (10th Anniversary Edition)

Meat Puppets – “Down” – Rat Farm

Phoenix – “Trying To Be Cool” – Bankrupt!

Beastie Boys – “Hey Ladies” – Solid Gold Hits

Best Coast – “The Only Place” – The Only Place

Bruce Springsteen – “Radio Nowhere” – Magic

Jimmy Eat World – “Damaged” – Damaged (Single)

Streetlight Manifesto – “Somewhere In The Betweeen” – Somewhere In The Between

Sufjan Stevens – “Chicago” – Come On Feel The Illinoise

The Smiths – “Half A Person” – Louder Than Bombs